SMC Gaels
Saint Mary'es College Athletics

Men's Golf

Ben Geyer is one of the top collegiate golfers in the country.
Ben Geyer is one of the top collegiate golfers in the country.
GOLF | Geyer Named To Hogan Award Watch List
Release: Monday 01/30/2013 
by SMC Athletics

FORT WORTH, Texas -- Senior Ben Geyer is the first-ever Saint Mary's golfer to be selected as one of 27 collegiate golfers named to the 2013 Ben Hogan Award Watch List, award officials announced today.

Crowne Plaza Hotels & Resorts, in conjunction with Colonial Country Club, The Friends of Golf (FOG) and the Golf Coaches Association of America, revealed the list today, which includes natives of nine different countries, 20 universities.

"Ben Geyer being named to Ben Hogan award watch list is a testament to his development and outstanding play while at Saint Mary's," said SMC head golf coach Scott Hardy.   "This is a very prestigious award and our entire program is proud of Ben for this nomination. Saint Mary's golf continues to accumulate first time honors and we are excited to see our student-athletes setting new benchmarks."

Geyer is the defending West Coast Conference individual champion and led the Gaels to the program's first-ever league title last spring.  He is one of the country's more accomplished amateur golfers, participating in the US Amateur, US Amateur Public Links and twice qualifying for the US Open Sectionals.  Last summer he advanced to the final of the California State Amateur Championships.

The most prestigious award in men’s college golf, The Ben Hogan Award is presented annually to the top men’s NCAA Division I, II or III, NAIA or NJCAA college golfer taking into account all collegiate and amateur competitions during the past 12-month period. The Ben Hogan Award Selection Committee represents leaders in amateur and collegiate golf.

The 2013 The Ben Hogan Award Watch List includes, in alphabetical order: Daniel Berger (Florida State, So.), Julien Brun (TCU, So.), Albin Choi (NC State, Jr.), Corey Conners (Kent State, Jr.), Scott Fernandez (Iowa State, So.), Steven Fox (Chattanooga, Sr.), Ben Geyer (St. Mary’s, Sr.), Talor Gooch (Oklahoma State, Jr.), Brandon Hagy (California, Jr.), Max Homa (California, Sr.), Michael Kim (California, So.), Jace Long (Missouri, Sr.), Tyler McCumber (Florida, Sr.), Cheng-Tsung Pan (Washington, So.), Kevin Penner (UNLV, Sr.), Thomas Pieters (Illinois, Jr.), Patrick Rodgers (Stanford, So.), Trevor Simsby (Washington, Jr.), Brandon Stone (Texas, Fr.), Julian Suri (Duke, Sr.), Ben Taylor (Nova Southeastern, Jr.), Justin Thomas (Alabama, So.), T.J. Vogel (Florida, Sr.), Michael Weaver (California, Jr.), Pontus Widegren (UCLA, Sr.), Chris Williams (Washington, Sr.) and Bobby Wyatt (Alabama, Jr.).

A list of 10 semifinalists, which could include individuals not on the current list, will be unveiled on Thursday, April 18. On Wednesday, May 8, that group will be pared down to three finalists. The winner will be crowned at a black-tie banquet at Colonial Country Club on Monday, May 20, prior to the start of the PGA TOUR’s Crowne Plaza Invitational at Colonial.

The award, which was first issued in 1990 and included academic achievement in its original list of standards, revised its criteria for the 2001-02 collegiate season to its current standard of honoring the outstanding amateur collegiate golfer.

Since that time, the winners have been: D.J. Trahan (Clemson, 2002), Ricky Barnes (Arizona, 2003), Hunter Mahan (Oklahoma State, 2003), Bill Haas (Wake Forest, 2004), Ryan Moore (UNLV, 2005), Matt Every (Florida, 2006), Chris Kirk (Georgia, 2007), Rickie Fowler (Oklahoma State, 2008), Kyle
Stanley (Clemson, 2009), Nick Taylor (Washington, 2010), Peter Uihlein (Oklahoma State, 2011) and Patrick Cantlay (UCLA, 2012).

To find the latest information on The Ben Hogan Award, its candidates and its previous winners, visit the official web site and follow @BenHoganAward on Twitter.