SMC Gaels
Saint Mary'es College Athletics

Men's Golf

GOLF | Consistency Leads To Strong Jones Cup Finish For Geyer
Release: Tuesday 02/03/2013 
by SMC Athletics

SEA ISLAND, Ga. -- Saint Mary's senior Ben Geyer looked forward to seeing how his game compared this weekend against some of the world's top amateur players at the Jones Cup Invitational.

After three days and 54-holes of competition, Geyer finished in a tie for 11th and was the 8th-best American among the 90-player field at the par 72, 7,321-yard Ocean Forest Golf Club.

A native of Arbuckle, Calif., Geyer shot 3-straight rounds of 74 for a 3-round total of 222.  Only three players finished at under-par and medalist honors went to Sean Dale of Jacksonville, Fla, who shot a 3-under par 213.

"I played pretty solid overall," said Geyer, the defending West Coast Conference individual champion. "I didn't get anything rolling through, which is why I didn't really have a good day in any of the three rounds.

"The course was one of the most difficult tournament courses I have ever played.  If the greens weren't so pure, then I'd have to say it was the hardest scoring conditions I've played in - particularly with the beautiful weather. 

"The event was very well run and it is always fun to compete against some of the best amateur golfers in the world and see how my game stacks-up.  Overall, it was a good performance and I'm ready to get the spring season underway."

First contested in 2001, the Jones Cup Invitational is 54-hole individual stroke-play event played at Ocean Forest Golf Club. The Rees Jones design opened in 1995 and has hosted the 1998 Georgia State Amateur Championship, the 1999 Southern Amateur Championship and the 2001 Walker Cup Match.

The Jones Cup brings together many of the finest amateurs from the United States and abroad for a 3-day competition. While the golf course proves to be a great venue for this unique event, the Jones Cup's success and popularity can be attributed to the strength of the players who comprise its field. Past participants range from current and future PGA Tour stars Luke Donald, Rickie Fowler, Lucas Glover, Dustin Johnson, Chris Kirk, Jeff Overton, Webb Simpson, Brandt Snedeker, Bubba Watson and Gary Woodland as well as Past Champions DJ Trahan, Gregg Jones, Nicholas Thompson, Luke List, Kyle Stanley, Patrick Reed and John Peterson.