SMC Gaels
Saint Mary'es College Athletics

Men's Basketball

Matthew Dellavedova ended his career with a multitude of honors.
Matthew Dellavedova ended his career with a multitude of honors.
MBK | Dellavedova Named Henson All-America
Release: Sunday 03/25/2013 
by SMC Athletics
BOSTON, Mass. -- For the second-straight year, Saint Mary's senior Matthew Dellavedova was named to the 25-player 2013 Lou Henson All-America Team.

The complete team includes Travis Bader (Oakland), Billy Baron (Canisius), Jerrelle Benimon (Towson), Tommy Brenton (Stony Brook), Ryan Broekhoff
(Valparaiso), Isaiah Canaan (Murray State), Jackie Carmichael (Illinois
State), Will Cherry (Montana), Jake Cohen (Davidson), D.J. Cooper (Ohio),
Matthew Dellavedova (Saint Mary's), James Ennis (Long Beach), Shane Gibson
(Sacred Heart), Juan'ya Green (Niagara), Corey Hawkins (UC Davis), Tyler
Haws (BYU), Troy Huff (North Dakota), Lamont Jones (Iona), Zeke Marshall
(Akron), Jake Odum (Indiana State), Jamal Olasewere (LIU-Brooklyn), Keith
Rendleman (UNC Wilmington), Augustine Rubit (South Alabama), Colt Ryan
(Evansville), Taylor Smith (Stephen F. Austin).

Rather than assemble a first team, second team, third team and honorable
mention; the Lou Henson All-America team is one squad consisting one 25

The Lou Henson Award is presented annually to the top Mid-Major player in
Division I college basketball. The award is named in honor of Lou Henson
who retired after a spectacular coaching career that lasted 41 years.

When he left the game in 2005 he was sixth all-time in career Division I
wins with 779. He is the winningest coach at both Illinois and New Mexico
State. He is one of only 12 coaches in the history of the game to take two
schools to the Final Four.

The 2013 Award will be presented at the awards banquet
in Atlanta, site of the men's NCAA Basketball Championship.