SMC Gaels
Saint Mary'es College Athletics

Men's Basketball

Matthew Dellavedova earned honorable mention All-America honors for the second-straight year.
Matthew Dellavedova earned honorable mention All-America honors for the second-straight year.
MBK | Dellavedova Earns AP All-America Mention
Release: Wednesday 04/04/2013 
by SMC Athletics

NEW YORK -- Saint Mary's senior guard Matthew Dellavedova added to his impressive list of accolades as he was named by the Associated Press as an honorable mention All-America selection for the second-straight year.

Dellavedova, a native of Maryborough, Victoria, Australia, is the first Saint Mary's men's basketball player to earn consecutive All-America recognition since Tom Meschery in 1960 and 1961.  He also gives the Gaels' program an honorable mention AP selection in each of the last four seasons.  Omar Samhan earned the honor in 2010 and Mickey McConnell was honored in 2011.

One of five Saint Mary's players to earn first-team all-West Coast Conference honors three times, Dellavedova was the 2012 league player of the year and is a two-time CoSIDA Academic All-America.  Twice he was named among the five finalists for the Bob Cousy Award, given to the nation's top point guard, and he leaves the Saint Mary's program as the school's all-time leader in scoring, assists, 3-pointers, free throw percentage, games started and appearances.

2012-13 Associated Press All-America Men's Basketball Teams

First Team

Trey Burke, Michigan
Otto Porter Jr., Georgetown
Victor Oladipo, Indiana
Doug McDermott, Creighton
Kelly Olynyk, Gonzaga 

Second Team

Marcus Smart, Oklahoma State
Cody Zeller, Indiana
Mason Plumlee, Duke
Shane Larkin, Miami
Ben McLemore, Kansas 

Third Team

DeShaun Thomas, Ohio State
Jeff Withey, Kansas
Russ Smith, Louisville
Erick Green, Virginia Tech
Nate Wolters, South Dakota State 

Honorable Mention

Kyle Barone, Idaho; Jerrelle Benimon, Towson; Anthony Bennett, UNLV; Tommy Brenton, Stony Brook; Sherwood Brown, Florida Gulf Coast; Isaiah Canaan, Murray State; Kentavious Caldwell-Pope, Georgia; Michael Carter-Williams, Syracuse; Ian Clark, Belmont; Jake Cohen, Davidson. 

Jack Cooley, Notre Dame; D.J. Cooper, Ohio; Allen Crabbe, California; Aaron Craft, Ohio State; Seth Curry, Duke; Matthew Dellavedova, Saint Mary's; Gorgui Dieng, Louisville; James Ennis, Long Beach State; Chris Flores, NJIT; Jamal Franklin, San Diego State. 

Ian Hummer, Princeton; Colton Iverson, Colorado State; Joe Jackson, Memphis; Kareem Jamar, Montana; Lamont Jones, Iona; Ray McCallum, Detroit; Rodney McGruder, Kansas State; Shabazz Muhammad, UCLA; Erik Murphy, Florida (1 first-team vote); Mike Muscala, Bucknell. 

Stan Okoye, VMI; Jamal Olasewere, LIU Brooklyn; Phil Pressey, Missouri; Augustine Rubit, South Alabama; Peyton Siva, Louisville (1); Taylor Smith, Stephen F. Austin; Omar Strong, Texas Southern; Kendall Williams, New Mexico; Pendarvis Williams, Norfolk State; Khalif Wyatt, Temple.