SMC Gaels
Saint Mary'es College Athletics


SB | Smith, Sabatini Earn All-PCSC Honors
Release: Saturday 05/21/2013 
by SMC Athletics

PORTLAND, Ore. -- Catcher Megan Smith earned a spot on the first team and outfielder Brittany Sabatini was a second team selection as the Pacific Coast Softball Conference announced its all-conference selections late Monday night.

Smith, a native of Rolling Hills Estates, Calif., finished the season with a .284 average. She led the team in hitting for most of the season, also leading the way in RBI with 27.

She also earned PCSC Player of the Week honors after going 7 for 14 against Santa Clara in her final weekend of action at Cottrell Field.

Where she was perhaps most valuable this season was in the leadership department, as Smith and Jessica Lemmon served as the lone seniors on a squad with 12 freshmen. Providing stability, both on the field and off, helped the Gaels improve steadily as the season progressed.

It is Smith's second all-conference nod, as she was named to the PCSC All-Coastal Division second team as a sophomore in 2011.

Sabatini, a native of Livermore, Calif., began her junior season slow but closed with a torrid last couple of months. The Gaels' center fielder finished the season with a .257 average, leading Saint Mary's in doubles (7), triples (2), total bases (67) and stolen bases (10).

She did her best work late in the year, hitting .338 in PCSC play. She slugged .538 in conference, collecting nine extra-base hits in 24 games.

Sabatini also played a great center field, recording seven outfield assists and compiling a .978 fielding percentage.

It is the third All-PCSC selection in a row for Sabatini. She was an All-Coastal Division Second Team choice in 2012, and an Honorable Mention pick in 2011.

BYU's J.C. Clayton and Loyola Marymount's Sterling Shuster shared the PCSC Player of the Year award. Lions freshman Sydney Gouveia was named Pitcher of the Year, BYU's Gordy Bravo was named Freshman of the Year and BYU head coach Gordon Eakin took home Coach of the Year honors.