SMC Gaels
SMC
Saint Mary'es College Athletics

Men's Basketball

Saint Mary's will open the Wooden Legacy on Thanksgiving day at 1 p.m.
Saint Mary's will open the Wooden Legacy on Thanksgiving day at 1 p.m.
MBK | Gaels to Open Wooden Legacy Versus Harvard
Release: Tuesday 08/01/2017 
by SMC Athletics

FULLERTON, Calif. — The pairings for the for the 2017 Wooden Legacy have been revealed and Saint Mary's men's basketball will face Harvard in the first round of the eight-team tournament set to take place at Cal State Fullerton.

The Gaels and Crimson will share the Titan Gym floor to tip-off the classic on Thanksgiving day, Thursday, Nov. 23 at 1 p.m. PT. The opening game will be televised live on ESPNEWS. With a victory over Harvard, the Gaels will face the winner of Saint Joseph's- Washington State on Friday, Nov. 24 at 10:30 a.m. PT (ESPNEWS). A loss versus the Crimson will move the Gaels to the 1 p.m. PT (ESPN3) game versus the loser between SJU and WSU.

On the other side of the bracket stands Georgia vs. CSUF, and San Diego State vs. Sacramento State.

SMC will play Harvard for just the second time in program history, with the first meeting going in favor of the Gaels, 70-69, back in 2012 in McKeon Pavilion.

Saint Mary's returns to the Wooden Legacy for the third time, as the team participated in the annual Thanksgiving tournament in 2008 and 2012. In 2008, guard Patty Mills was honored on the all-tournament team.

Saint Mary's (NCAA), Georgia (NIT) and Cal State Fullerton (CollegeInsider.com) competed in post-season events last March.  The Gaels defeated VCU in the first round of the NCAA men's basketball championship, while Georgia and Cal State Fullerton dropped their first-round matches to Belmont and Weber State, respectively.

All-Session tickets will go on sale on Sept. 13th and can be purchased at fullertontitans.com or by calling (657) 278-2783.  Additional ticket and travel package information can be found on the event web site at www.TheWoodenLegacy.com.

Season tickets for 2017-18 are available to renew and purchase. To become a season ticket holder or purchase tickets for Saint Mary's men's basketball games, followers can visit the tickets link on SMCGaels.com or by calling the SMC Athletic Ticket Office during weekday business hours at (925) 631-GoTx (4689).

All 12 games of the 2017 Wooden Legacy will be televised on ESPN2, ESPNU, ESPNEWS or ESPN3. All times listed are Pacific (unless otherwise noted).

Thursday, November 23

·         Game 1 - Saint Mary's vs. Harvard, 1 p.m. PT (4 p.m. ET), ESPNEWS

·         Game 2 - Saint Joseph's vs. Washington State, 3:30 p.m. PT (6:30 p.m. ET), ESPN3

·         Game 3 - Georgia vs. Cal State Fullerton, 7:30 p.m. PT (10:30 p.m. ET), ESPNEWS

·         Game 4 - San Diego State vs. Sacramento State, 10 p.m. PT (1 a.m. ET, next day), ESPNU

Friday, November 24

·         Game 5 - Saint Mary's/Harvard winner vs. Saint Joseph's/Washington State winner, 10:30 a.m. PT (1:30 p.m. ET), ESPNEWS

·         Game 6 - Saint Mary's/Harvard loser vs. Saint Joseph's/Washington State loser, 1 p.m. PT (4 p.m. ET), ESPN3

·         Game 7 - Georgia/Cal State Fullerton winner vs. San Diego State/Sacramento State winner, 4 p.m. PT (7 p.m. ET), ESPN2

·         Game 8 - Georgia/Cal State Fullerton loser vs. San Diego State/Sacramento State loser, 6:30 p.m. PT (9:30 p.m. ET), ESPNEWS 

Sunday, November 26

·         Game 9 - Game 6 and Game 8 losers, 11:30 a.m. PT (2:30 p.m. ET), ESPN3

·         Game 10 - Game 5 and Game 7 losers, 2 p.m. PT (5 p.m. ET), ESPNU

·         Game 11 - Game 6 and Game 8 winners, 6:30 p.m. PT (9:30 p.m. ET), ESPN3

·         Game 12, Championship - Game 5 and Game 7 winners, 9 p.m. PT (12 a.m. ET, next day), ESPN2 


SUPPORT THE GAELS
A gift to the Gael Athletic Fund directly benefits Saint Mary's student-athletes, allowing them the opportunity to attain an education guided by our Catholic, Lasallian and Liberal Arts traditions. Click the link for more information. 

 FOLLOW THE GAELS
@SMCGaels (Facebook, Twitter, Instagram) SMC_Gaels (Snapchat)