Skip to main content Skip to footer

MBK | Landale Named Semifinalist for Citizen Naismith Trophy

Feb. 28, 2018 Naismith Release

ATLANTA -- West Coast Conference Player of the Year Jock Landale continues to be in the national spotlight as he was named one of 10 finalists for the prestigious Citizen Naismith Trophy for 2018 Men’s College Basketball Player of the Year, the Atlanta Tipoff Club announced today.

Four finalists will be selected from this list of 10 by the Naismith Awards master voting academy. Fans will be able to support their favorite finalist by visiting from March 19-30 to cast their ballot and help decide the winner. The fan component counts for five percent of the vote. On April 1st, the 50th Citizen Naismith Trophy will be awarded during the Naismith Awards Brunch at Pearl Stable in San Antonio.

Landale recently became the seventh all-time Gael, and first since Matthew Dellavedova (2012) to gain Player of the Year honors. The big man became the third Gael under head coach Randy Bennett to win the conference award.

Landale has seven 30-point games this season and is ninth in the NCAA with 17 double-doubles. The Aussie led the conference in points (21.5), rebounds (10.2), field-goal percentage (64.2), defensive rebounds (7.5) and double-doubles (17).

Saint Mary’s will take on the winner between Santa Clara and Pepperdine in the Quarterfinals of the WCC Championship on Saturday, March 3 at 9 p.m. on ESPN2.

Celebrating 50 Years of the Citizen Naismith Trophy
Founded during the 1956-57 season, the Atlanta Tipoff Club is committed to promoting the game of basketball and recognizing the outstanding accomplishments of those who make the game so exciting. The Atlanta Tipoff Club administers the Naismith Awards, which have become the most prestigious national honors in all of college basketball.

Named in honor of Dr. James Naismith, inventor of the game of basketball, the Naismith Trophy recognizes the top Men’s and Women’s College Basketball Players of the Year. Other Naismith Awards are presented to the Men’s and Women’s College Basketball Coaches of the Year, Boys’ and Girls’ High School Basketball Players and Coaches of the Year, Basketball Officials and Outstanding Contributors to the game. Celebrating its 50th year by honoring past winners, the Citizen Naismith Trophy was first presented to UCLA’s Lew Alcindor (later known as Kareem Abdul-Jabbar) in 1969. Old Dominion’s Anne Donovan won the inaugural Women’s Citizen Naismith Trophy in 1983.



OfficialOnline Store