Skip to main content Skip to footer

MBK | Landale Named to Oscar Robertson Trophy Watch List

Nov. 6, 2017

ST. LOUIS -- Gaels' center Jock Landale has received national recognition yet again as he was nominated on Monday to the Oscar Robertson Trophy Watch List, as announced by the United States' Basketball Writers' Association (USBWA).

The senior Landale is among 32 of the country's best players to be selected to this year's watch list. The Oscar Robertson Trophy began in 1959 and is given to the most outstanding men's college basketball player each season as voted by the USBWA.

Landale, who was named to the Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Center of the Year Award watch list just weeks ago, powered the Gaels' offense last year in his first season as a starter. The 6-11 Aussie led the West Coast Conference in rebounds per game in 2016-17 and was among the conference's best in field goal percentage, scoring, blocks, and free throw percentage.

Other notable players also named to this year's watch list include Missouri's Michael Porter Jr., Duke's Grayson Allen, Arizona's Allonzo Trier, and Reid Travis from Stanford. No other player from the WCC was selected to the watch list.

Previous winners of the Oscar Robertson Trophy include Larry Bird (1979), Michael Jordan (1984), Kevin Durant (2007), and last year's recipient, Frank Mason III.

No. 22 Saint Mary's will tip-off their season this Saturday against Saint Francis (PA) at 5 p.m. in McKeon Pavilion. For questions or to purchase tickets, click on the ticket link, call 925-631-GoTx, or email

#GaelsRise - It's time to pack McKeon Pavilion and watch the Saint Mary's basketball team rise to new the SMC Ticket Office today at 925-631-4689 or click the ticket link above to get your seats now...Saint Mary's Basketball...#GaelsRise



OfficialOnline Store